How to Reinstate a Suspended Registration in Californiaby Sameca Pandova
California requires all vehicles operated on public roads to have valid and current registration. California will suspend a vehicle's registration if the owner fails to provide proof of insurance within 30 days of ownership, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is notified of a cancelled insurance policy on a vehicle, or the registration is obtained by presenting false evidence that the vehicle is insured. When registration is suspended, the state will send notice to the owner that in order to reinstate it, the owner will need to file proof of insurance and pay a reinstatement fee.
Obtain current and valid insurance for your vehicle.
Mail your proof of insurance, a reinstatement-fee check for $14, and the stub from your notification letter to the California DMV, P.O Box 997405, Sacramento, California 95899-7405. If you don't have a notification letter, mail the proof of insurance and fee to DMV - VRFRP Unit, P.O. Box 997408 M/S N305, Sacramento, California 95899-7408.
Call the automated voice system at 1-800-777-0133 to verify registration status. You can also submit proof of insurance and fee payment via the phone system.
Things You'll Need
- Current and valid proof of insurance
- Reinstatement fee of $14
Based near Chicago, Sameca Pandova has been writing since 1995 and now contributes to various websites. He is an attorney with experience in health care, family and criminal prosecution issues. Pandova holds a Master of Laws in health law from Loyola University Chicago, a Juris Doctor from Case Western Reserve University and a Bachelor of Arts in history and political science from Case Western.