Thinking about purchasing a new car? Use our new Car Loan Calculator to estimate your monthly car payment!

How to Replace a Lost Texas License Plate

by Nicole Askin

Lost or damaged Texas license plates need to be replaced as soon as possible. Texas law requires two license plates on your vehicle. Failure to comply is a misdemeanor charge and offenders are punishable by fine. In addition to the standard "Lone Star Texas" plates, there are a number of acceptable specialty plates. Specialty plates can reflect academic affiliation or alma mater, military status, support for charities or organizations, type of vehicle and public service or agricultural employment.

Obtain the appropriate license plate replacement form. The form for requesting the replacement of a standard license plate is VTR-60. Each specialty license plate has a unique form. Forms are available for download from the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles website (see References). VTR-60 is also available at most county tax offices; other forms depend on demand and may not be available.

Complete the request form. Indicate whether you need only the license plate or also the registration stickers. Include your full name and contact information. Also indicate your vehicle's year, make and model, and its Vehicle Identification Number (VIN). Sign an affidavit affirming the information on your form is correct and that you will only use the replacement plates on the described vehicle.

Determine the fee required for your replacement plate. The standard fee is $5.30 per plate. An additional $1 is charged for residents of a county with more than 50,000 residents. Specialty plates are more expensive to replace. On average, they cost $30 per plate. Customization of plates is permitted for an additional variable fee.

Submit the completed form and the requisite fee to your local county tax office. Offices are listed in most Texas phone books. You can also locate your local office using the Texas DMV website (see Resources).

Tip

  • Specialty plates can be ordered online in most counties. You must go to the tax office in person to collect plates ordered online in order to verify your identity.

Warning

  • Submitting false information to the Department of Motor Vehicles is a felony offense.

Items you will need

About the Author

Nicole Askin has been writing since 2004. Her work has appeared in "Juice," "Ibid," and a number of websites. She is currently pursuing a degree in honors English, music and creative writing at the University of Western Ontario.

More Articles

Photo Credits

  • protezione dell auto image by paologo from Fotolia.com