How to Fill Out a Texas Certificate of Titleby Cecilia Harsch
Protect yourself and the person that sold you their car by filling out the required paperwork to obtain a Texas Certificate of Title. By not properly titling your vehicle in Texas, you can be fined and possibly find yourself facing late penalties that could cost you several hundred dollars. Any parking violations, toll violations and even criminal activity can be linked to the prior owner of the vehicle. Make sure the state of Texas is informed of the registered owner of the vehicle by submitting the application for the certificate of title in a timely manner.
Obtain an application for the Texas Certificate of Title form 130-U by visiting the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Website or your local Tax Assessor - Collector's office (see Resources).
Fill out the application starting with the vehicle identification number (VIN) located on the driver's doorframe and on the dashboard facing the windshield. You also need the model year of the vehicle, brand of the vehicle, body style and vehicle model. Locate this information on the label permanently attached to the driver's doorframe. For example, 2002 Ford pickup F150.
Obtain the current odometer reading from the odometer in the dash of the car. You must provide the empty weight and the carrying capacity in pounds for the vehicle. This information is listed on the label permanently affixed to the driver's doorframe.
Provide the applicant/owner's name and address. Provide the registrant name (the person the vehicle will be registered to) and address as well as the vehicle's physical location if these items are different from the applicant/owner's.
Fill in the previous owner's name and address and the lien holder's name and address if you have financed the vehicle.
Record the actual mileage of the vehicle for the odometer disclosure as required by law. Also check the box to identify whether this is the actual mileage, a broken or replacement odometer or the mileage exceeds the mechanical limits of the odometer. For instance, the odometer can only record five digits and the actual mileage exceeds 99,999 miles.
Provide information for the sales and use computation. You must list the price you paid for the vehicle and check any other boxes in this portion of the application that applies to you and the vehicle. The tax office provides you with the current tax amount when you submit the application.
Sign and date the application as the purchaser. Have the seller sign and date the application.
Submit the completed application, a signed title, current registration receipt (if available) and proof of insurance in the applicant's name. Take this information within 20 business days of purchasing the vehicle to your local Tax Assessor-Collector's office along with the applicable fees as determined by the tax office.
Things You'll Need
Cecilia Harsch has been writing professionally since 2009. She writes mainly home improvement, health and travel articles for various online publications. She has several years of experience in the home-improvement industry, focusing on gardening, and a background in group exercise instruction. Harsch received her Certified Nurses Assistant license in 2004. She attended Tarrant County College and studied English composition.