How to Check the Status of a Suspended Driver's License in Texas

by Mary Jane Freeman

If you suspect your Texas driver's license has been suspended or you have taken steps to reinstate it, contact the Department of Public Safety for an update on its status. You can do this in person at a local office, by phone, email or online.

Visit Local Office

The Texas Department of Public Safety provides a [list of office locations](http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/DriverLicense/customer_service/default.aspx). You can find a driver license office by city, county or zip code. After entering search data and clicking "Submit" button, a new page will open with location's street address, hours of operation and payment methods accepted.

Phone Inquiry

Call the Texas Department of Public Safety at (512) 424-2600. Customer service representatives are available weekdays between 7 a.m. and 6 p.m. DPS recommends calling between either 7 and 8 a.m. or 5 and 6 p.m. for **faster service**. Fridays also tend to feature lower call volumes.

Email Inquiry

You also can check on your suspended license using the [inquiry form](http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/DriverLicense/customer_service/suspensions.aspx) on DPS's website. Provide your name as it appears on your license, driver's license number, birthdate, email and phone number in the boxes provided. Underneath, list your questions and be as detailed as possible. Click the "Submit Form" button. DPS will answer your inquiry **within two business days**.

Access License Eligibility Database

Another option is using DPS's [License Eligibility database](https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/dleligibility/login.do) to check the status of your license. Provide your driver's license number, last four digits of your Social Security number and birthdate in the fields provided, then press the "Login" button.

Order Driver Record

Check the status of your license by ordering a copy of your driving record. You can [order it online](http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/InternetForms/Forms/DR-1.pdf) from the DPS's website. To order by mail, complete an Application for Driver Record and mail to the Texas Department of Public Safety, P.O. Box 149008, Austin, TX 78714-9008. There is a fee for the record, ranging from $4 to $10, based on the type of record you want.

About the Author

Based on the West Coast, Mary Jane Freeman has been writing professionally since 1994, specializing in the topics of business and law. Freeman's work has appeared in a variety of publications, including LegalZoom, Essence, Reuters and Chicago Sun-Times. Freeman holds a Master of Science in public policy and management and Juris Doctor. Freeman is self-employed and works as a policy analyst and legal consultant.