How to Check If a Georgia Driver's License Is Suspendedby Tina AmoUpdated July 11, 2023
Driving with a suspended license is illegal and could cause you to lose it permanently. There are many reasons for a driver’s license suspension: getting a DUI from driving under the influence, not paying child support, getting into other trouble with law enforcement, traffic violations or traffic tickets that haven’t been paid, getting too many license points, or violation of driving privileges.
You may check your driver license status online, at the website for Georgia's Department of Driver Services, or in your driving history report. Both methods will show whether your license is suspended, revoked or still valid. Here’s how to check if a Georgia driver’s license is suspended.
The Department of Driver Services (DDS) provides an uncomplicated status check tool on its website that requires few details to access your record. Type your driver’s license number into the field and click "Continue." The following page will display your current Georgia DDS license status, whether valid, suspended or revoked. The state of Georgia keeps records or ID cards and Georgia licenses for all drivers and makes it easy to check license status online.
Order a Driving History Report Online
Your driving history report contains your current license status as well as a history of any driving infractions or revocations over the last three to seven years. You can order an uncertified version which you can view immediately online or a certified version that the DMV will mail to you. The uncertified version will be available to view and print for 30 days. You will receive the certified version within seven days.
You can request a three-year report for $6 or a seven-year report for $8, as of publication.
Pay with a debit or credit card online (Discover, American Express, MasterCard, Visa) or mail a check, cashier's check money order or credit card details. You must create an account with the department before you can place an order or view the report. They have common FAQs on their website as well.
Order Report by Mail
Submit Form DDS-18, Request for Motor Vehicle Report, or a letter, to the department to request a copy of your driving record. Provide the following in your form or letter: your name as it appears on your license, your license number, your date of birth and mailing address. Include a personal or business check, money order, cashier's check or credit card details for the payment and a self-addressed stamped envelope. Mail your request to: Georgia Department of Driver Services, MVR Request, P.O. Box 80447, Conyers, GA 30013.
Order Your Report in Person
You also can order your report in person at any DDS branch office. You must show identification such as a valid driver license, passport or permanent residence card. Pay with a debit or credit card, check, cash or money order. If you are ordering a report for someone else, have her complete Form DDS-18 and give you an authorization letter. Provide both at the department branch, along with your identification and the payment.
If you find out your driving permit has been suspended, you can usually get it reinstated for a reinstatement fee and providing your information like your social security number, or you may have to get a new license altogether through the customer service center.
Tina Amo has been writing business-related content since 2006. Her articles appear on various well-known websites. Amo holds a Bachelor of Science in business administration with a concentration in information systems.