Where Are Subarus Manufactured?

by Tom Gresham
itstillruns article image
Eric Thayer/Getty Images News/Getty Images

Subarus are made at two manufacturing plants. One plant is located in Gunma, Japan, and the other is in Lafayette, Indiana. The Japan site produces the Subaru BRZ, XV Crosstrek, Impreza, WRX, STi and Forester models. At the Indiana site, Subaru produces the Legacy sedan, and the Outback and Tribeca crossovers. Fuji Heavy Industries, a Japanese company, is the parent company for Subaru.

Planned Changes

Subaru announced plans in 2013 to invest $400 million in its Indiana plant to begin manufacturing the Impreza there. Production of the vehicle is slated to start there in 2016. The Indiana plant currently builds 200,000 Subarus a year. The investment in the plant will increase capacity to 300,000 Subarus each year. The facility employs approximately 3,600 workers and will add 900 more to work on the Impreza. In addition, the Subaru facility manufactures the Camry sedan for Toyota. The plant also might begin building the Crosstrek and the WRX once expansion is complete.

More Articles

article divider