List of SUV Makers

by Daniel Biczyk
itstillruns article image
suv mercedes ml image by alma_sacra from

The sport utility vehicle (SUV) is a popular type of truck that is typically larger and more off-road friendly than a car. SUVs are popular choices for those who want a bigger vehicle, whether for safety reasons, off-road capability or the ability to carry more cargo. In 2010, more than 25 manufacturers in the United States, Europe and Asia sell SUVs in the United States.

American SUV Makers

American SUV manufacturers are the "Big Three," Ford, General Motors and Chrysler. Under each of those corporations are various manufacturers that produce separate SUV types and body styles.


Ford: Models include the Escape, Explorer and Expedition. The 2011 Explorer is completely redesigned.

Mercury: Also part of the Ford family, the Mercury SUV lineup includes the Mariner and Mountaineer. The 2010 model year will be the last for all Mercury vehicles, as Ford has decided to discontinue the brand.

Lincoln: Models include the MKX, MKT and Navigator.

General Motors

Buick: The Enclave is offered.

Cadillac: Models include the SRX and Escalade.

Chevrolet: Models include the Equinox, Traverse, Tahoe and Suburban.

GMC: Models include the Terrain, Acadia and Yukon.


Dodge: Models for 2010 include the Journey and Nitro.

Jeep: For 2010, Jeep offers the Commander, Compass, Grand Cherokee, Liberty, Patriot, Wrangler and Wrangler Unlimited. The 2011 Grand Cherokee is completely redesigned.

European SUV Makers

European SUV manufacturers are based mainly in Germany, the United Kingdom and Sweden.

Audi: The Q5 and Q7 are offered as 2010 and 2011 models.

BMW: Models include the X3, X5 and X6.

Land Rover: LR2 and LR4, Ranger Rover and Range Rover Sport are offered.

Mercedes-Benz: Models include the GLK, M, GL and G.

Porsche: The Cayenne is available and completely redesigned for 2011.

Volkswagen: Models include the Tiguan and Touareg.

Volvo: Models include the XC60, XC70 and XC90.

Asian SUV Makers

Asian SUV manufacturers are based in Japan and South Korea.

Acura: A division of Honda; models include MDX and RDX.

Honda: Models include the CR-V, Element and Pilot.

Hyundai: Models include the Tucson, Sante Fe and Veracruz.

Infiniti: A division of Nissan; 2010 models include the EX and FX. The QX was completely redesigned for 2011.

Kia: Models include the Borrego, Sorento and Sportage. The Sportage and Sorento were redesigned for 2011.

Lexus: A division of Toyota; models include the RX, GX and LX.

Mazda: Once part of Ford; 2010 models include the Tribute, CX-7 and CX-9.

Mitsubishi: Models include the Outlander and Endeavor.

Nissan: Models include the Rogue, Murano, XTerra, Pathfinder and Armada.

Subaru: The Forester is available for 2010.

Suzuki: For 2010, the Grand Vitara is available.

Toyota: Models include the Rav4, FJ Cruiser, Highlander, 4Runner, Sequoia and Land Cruiser.

More Articles

article divider