How Does Texas Grade a Driving Test?by Jessica Saras
How Does Texas Grade a Driving Test?
As the old saying goes, driving is a privilege, not a right. In order to legally qualify to drive a vehicle, each state has its own testing requirements and exam methods. In Texas, the driving test is administered after the tester takes and passes two written tests - one covering basic driving laws and the other focusing on highway signage. In addition, individuals must also pass a vision test and show proof of automobile insurance. Provided that the person's vehicle passes inspection, and all tests have been passed, the individual may then officially submit an application for a driver's license. To do so he must pay a small examination fee and pass a comprehensive driving test. In order to pass the driving test, the tester may not violate the law in any way, refuse to follow the test examiner's instructions, drive in a dangerous manner or have more than 30 points deducted from her final score.
Material Convered by the Texas Driving Test Cover
The Texas driving test is designed to measure four important driving skills: control, observation, positioning and signaling. To determine your ability in each of these areas, the examiner will request testers to perform basic driving tasks such as parallel parking, driving in reverse, turns, passing, following and stopping. In addition, your posture, use of clutch, observance of traffic signals and highway signs will also be judged. You will be scored in each section, with the highest possible score being 25 per area for a combined score of 100. A minimum score of 70 is required to pass the Texas driving test. Once completed, your examiner will notify you of your score, review all of your errors with you and provide a written copy of the test.
Post Test Procedures
If you pass your driving test, you will need to pay the examination fee (if not already paid) and have your picture taken. At this time, you will be notified of any restrictions that have been placed on your license, such as contact/glasses requirements, restrictions regarding nighttime driving and other similar regulations. A DMV official will then provide a receipt that can be used temporarily until your driver's license is mailed to you--which should be no more than 60 days after your test date. If not received within 60 days, you should contact your local DMV. Remember to always carry your license with you when you are driving. If you do not pass the driving test, your examiner will provide tips for improvement, including which areas you need to practice. You will also be advised as to when you can return for a second examination.
Jessica Saras is a professional editor and copywriter. After earning an English degree from Reinhardt College, Saras completed the summer writing program at Sarah Lawrence College. A natural-born writer, she has more than six years of experience in web content development. In addition to being a full-time copywriter, she writes articles for Demand Studios, wiseGEEK.com, Examiner.com, and Suite101.com.