How to Check My Driver's License in Florida

by Mary Jane Freeman

If you want to check if your driving privileges have been suspended or reinstated, Florida's Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles gives you free access to your driving record online. You also can call the customer service center or stop by a local office to check with a FDHSMV representative directly. You even can check by ordering your driving record, but it will cost you.

Service Center

The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles provides links to its various locations throughout the state on its [website](http://www.flhsmv.gov/locations/). Click the link for the county you're interested in. The next page will list all service centers in your chosen county, including their physical address, office hours and phone number. To make an appointment at a particular location, click on the appointment link. **If there isn't a link**, the location serves walk-ins only.

Online Database

The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles also lets you [check the status](https://services.flhsmv.gov/dlcheck/) of your license online. **Enter your driver's license number** and the characters you see on the screen, then click "Enter" button. If the system returns a status of "valid," your driving record is clear.

Call Center

Call the [customer service center](http://www.flhsmv.gov/contact-us/) at (850) 617-2000 between 7 a.m. and 5:45 p.m. weekdays to inquire about your status by phone. Enter your driver's license and Social Security number when prompted by the automated system. FDHSMV advises drivers not to call between 11:30 a.m. and 2 p.m. since this is when it receives the largest amount of calls during the day.

Driving Record

Another option is **ordering a copy of your driving record**. However, this comes at a cost of either $8 or $10, depending on the time period covered by the record and whether it is certified. You can order your record in person at a service center or from a private vendor, court clerk or tax collector authorized to provide FDHSMV services. You also can submit your request **by mail**. Send a completed "Driver License Records Request" form and fee to Bureau of Records, P.O. Box 5775, Tallahassee, Florida 32314-5775. Expedited requests go to Bureau of Records, 2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 90, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0575.

About the Author

Based on the West Coast, Mary Jane Freeman has been writing professionally since 1994, specializing in the topics of business and law. Freeman's work has appeared in a variety of publications, including LegalZoom, Essence, Reuters and Chicago Sun-Times. Freeman holds a Master of Science in public policy and management and Juris Doctor. Freeman is self-employed and works as a policy analyst and legal consultant.