Kansas Laws on Tagging Trailers

by Sue Ake

The tag laws regarding trailers in Kansas are different from the laws concerning automobiles. The tagging laws for trailers are based on the weight of the trailer when loaded. The laws also take into consideration what the trailers are being used for.

Kansas Farm Trailers

Farm trailers in Kansas are exempt from registration if the loaded trailer is 6,000 pounds or less. If the weight of the trailer exceeds 6,000 pounds, there is a registration fee of $24. Loads that weigh more than 8,000 pounds must pay a registration of $34. Registration is paid to the County Treasurer's Office in the county where the trailer owner resides.

Personal Use Trailers

Personal use trailers, in Kansas, are exempt from registration if the loaded trailer is 2,000 pounds or less. If the trailer weight exceeds 2,000 pounds, there is a registration fee of $24. Loads that weigh more than 8,000 pounds must pay a registration of $34. Registration is paid to the County Treasurer's Office in the county where the trailer owner resides.

Tandem Trailers

Kansas trailers may be pulled in tandem if the first trailer has an anti-sway device and the second trailer is equipped with an active braking system. The combined length of the tandem set-up must not measure over 65 feet from the front of the pulling vehicle's bumper to the back bumper of the last trailer.

About the Author

This article was written by the It Still Runs team, copy edited and fact checked through a multi-point auditing system, in efforts to ensure our readers only receive the best information. To submit your questions or ideas, or to simply learn more about It Still Runs, contact us.

Photo Credits

  • photo_camera farm detail image by jeancliclac from Fotolia.com