Differences Between the Mercedes E and C

by Sharmaine Jones

Mercedes-Benz delivers a combination of innovation, luxury, safety and quality. The automaker categorizes its vehicles in classes, and the C and E classes rank among the most popular models sold.


The C-Class offers a choice of three sedans: C300, C350 and C63 AMG. The E-Class includes sedans, coups and convertibles, with models E350, E350 BlueTEC, E550 and E63 AMG.


The C300, E350 and E550 offer 4Matic, all-wheel drive, but only the C300 comes with the choice of a six-speed manual transmission.

The E350 BlueTEC has the smallest engine of both classes, with a 210-horsepower, 3.0-liter, turbocharged V-6 engine. The E550 boasts a 382-hp, 5.5-liter V-8 engine, as opposed to the E350 and C350's smaller 268-hp, 3.5-liter V-6s. The C63 and E63 sport different power trains -- with 451-hp and 518-hp respectively -- but both have 6.3-liter V-8s that feature AMG speed-shifts, going from 0 to 60 mph in 4.3 seconds.

Fuel Efficiency

Fuel economy in Mercedes' C and E classes falls between the C63 AMG's 19 highway mpg, and the E350 BlueTEC's 33 mpg.

Safety and Security

All models offer a list of standard features such as anti-lock brakes, anti-theft alarm system, side-impact airbags and keyless entry.


Mercedes' 2011 C-Class sedans range in price from $33,900 to $47,415, while 2011 E-Class vehicles start at $48,850 and cost up to $96,590.

More Articles

article divider