How to Return a New Car in Texasby Christina Whitaker
Buyer's remorse is a common reason people return new cars to the dealer. However, doing so is not always easy, as your contract is binding. If the dealer does allow returns, you may have only a week to complete your return unless your find that your car has a mechanical or physical defect you were unaware of prior to purchase. Always keep a copy of your records when purchasing a new car — it will make the return easier.
Contact the dealer immediately. Often, you will have as little as 24 hours to return a vehicle. Ask beforehand if the dealership accepts returns. You may be entitled to a full refund; you may have to take a pro-rated reduction for the time you had the car in your possession. Even if you can't get your money back, many dealers will work with you and even offer you a trade-in to purchase a different car.
Review the Lemon Laws. In Texas, you may be eligible for a car return if you've tried to repair a problem with the vehicle twice within the first year or 12,000 miles and twice more within the second year/12,000 miles after purchase, with no success (the Four-Times Test). You may also be eligible for a car return if you have two unsuccessful repairs of a serious safety defect once within one year or 12,000 miles and again within the second year/12,000 miles without success.
Search for contract loopholes. There may be certain legal restrictions, such as age or marital status, that prevent the dealer from selling you the car in the first place — and usually nullify the agreement. Read your contract carefully to identify any such instances.
Christina Whitaker began her writing career in 2005 in newspaper journalism. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in English from UCLA and a law degree. Her legal experience includes work in Federal Court, and civil and criminal litigation. She also maintains a blog on social, pop-culture and cultural matters.