How to Obtain a Disabled Parking Permit in Minnesotaby Contributor
There are several ways to qualify for a disabled parking permit in Minnesota. You need a valid medical certification of legal blindness, limited mobility, pulmonary restriction or cardiac condition. You are eligible if you cannot walk without portable oxygen or an assistive device such as a wheelchair, cane or brace. Mobility impairment due to arthritic, neurological or orthopedic conditions also qualifies. Getting the disabled parking permit is a relatively simple process--follow these steps to learn how.
Temporary or Permanent Placard
Meet one of Minnesota's qualifications for impaired vision, limited mobility or other qualifying condition. There are 4 certificate types: Temporary is valid for up to 6 months, short-term for 7 to 12 months, long-term for 13 to 71 months or a 6-year term. A temporary certificate may be issued for a pregnancy that could be endangered by walking.
Print the Application for Disability Parking Certificate form online and complete the Disabled Individual section at the top of the form.
Take the application to a licensed physician or other valid medical provider who can certify your condition. Get the medical section of the form completed and signed.
Submit the completed application to your local Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) location.
Pay the small application fee when applying for temporary and short-term certificates.
Receive a temporary permit to display until you receive the placard in approximately 4 weeks. Hang the placard from the rearview mirror when parking in a parking space reserved for the disabled.
Disabled License Plates
Meet one of Minnesota's qualifications for impaired vision, limited mobility or other qualifying condition.
Print the Application for Special Plates form online and complete all required sections for disability license plates.
Take the application to a licensed physician or other valid medical provider who can certify your condition. Get the medical statement portion of the form completed and signed. If you already own a disabled placard, a medical statement is not necessary.
Submit the completed application to your local Minnesota DVS location.
Pay the disabled license plate fee.
Receive a temporary permit to display until you receive the license plates.
- check To replace a lost or stolen certificate, complete only the Disabled Individual section of the application and resubmit it. There is a replacement fee for temporary and short-term certificates only.
- check Certificates are valid until the last day of the month indicated on the placard.
- check An individual may only have one set of disabled license plates.
- check You do not need to be a licensed driver to apply for a disabled parking permit. You may apply on behalf of a child with a disability.
- close Misuse of the certificate is a misdemeanor subject to a fine and possibly cancellation of disabled parking privileges.
- close Leaving the placard hanging on your rearview mirror while driving is dangerous and a misdemeanor offense.
- close Providing false information for the purpose of obtaining a disabled parking permit is a misdemeanor subject to fines.